top of page

Classifying Tarot Cards

aşk ve ilişkiler tarotu2.png

Categorizing Tarot Cards

(Tarot Course - Lesson 3)

In tarot, there are a total of 78 cards, but each card belongs to a specific category. First and foremost, tarot is divided into two main groups: the Major Arcana and the Minor Arcana. The Minor Arcana, in turn, is further divided into four categories: Wands, Cups, Swords, and Coins. Within these four categories, there are 10 numbered cards followed by 4 court cards, which are the Pages, Knights, Queens, and Kings.

Besides being categorized based on the series to which tarot cards belong, they can also be classified into groups based on the four elements they are associated with. In this classification, Wands correspond to fire, Cups to water, Swords to air, and Coins to earth. However, for a comprehensive classification, it is important to know which element each Major Arcana card belongs to as well.

For those looking to learn tarot reading, understanding the categories of the cards is crucial because when interpreting a tarot spread, the reader should initially group these cards to provide insights. For instance, if Cups dominate a spread, the situation is predominantly emotional. Similarly, when there are many Coins in a spread, it signifies a financial aspect. The Major Arcana cards provide profound life advice and are more instructive in nature. Just like our card number 0, The Fool, who seeks advice from each card during his journey, each Major Arcana card offers us guidance when it appears in a spread.

Readers who possess in-depth knowledge about the categories of tarot cards, including each card's element, associated planet, numerological value, and its group, will excel in their interpretations. This knowledge enables them to quickly assess whether a card represents a person, an event, or a situation just by categorizing the cards. However, it's essential to remember that tarot cards are versatile and shouldn't be solely interpreted by grouping them. Nevertheless, categorizing the cards can simplify the reader's task.

In our upcoming lessons, we will delve deeply into these categories, exploring in detail how each category should be interpreted and what insights they offer.

Tarot cards are divided into the following categories:

Major Arcana Cards

  • The Fool

  • The Magician

  • The High Priestess

  • The Empress

  • The Emperor

  • The Hierophant

  • The Lovers

  • The Chariot

  • Strength

  • The Hermit

  • Wheel of Fortune

  • Justice

  • The Hanged Man

  • Death

  • Temperance

  • The Devil

  • The Tower

  • The Star

  • The Moon

  • The Sun

  • Judgement

  • The World

Minor Arcana Cards

Wands (Fire) - 14 cards 

Cups (Water) - 14 cards 

Swords (Air) - 14 cards 

Pentacles (Earth) - 14 cards

Next - The Major Arcana


bottom of page